Grand Council Treaty #3 Congratulates and Welcomes Newly Selected Treaty #3 Youth Executive Council

Naotkamegwanning First Nation, October 14th, 2023 — The Grand Council Treaty #3 Anishinaabe Nation proudly announced the traditional selection of the new Youth Executive Council (Oshkiniigiig) representatives. These young leaders will play a vital role in representing the past, present, and future of the Anishinaabe Nation and ensuring the meaningful involvement of youth in traditional governance.

The newly appointed Youth Executive Council members and their communities are as follows:

Primary Representatives:
Jessica Lee – Migisi Sahgaigan
Ernest Cobiness Jr. – Buffalo Point
Mia Seymour – Naongashiing
Geryt Seymour – Naongashiing


Ogema Paypompee – Naotkamegwanning
Misty Castle – Asubpeeschoseewagong
Jordan Jack – Wauzhushk Onigum
Drae Greene – Naongashiing


Miigwech to Chief Howard Kabestra for hosting the selection process in Naotkamegwanning community roundhouse guided by Elder Isobel White. The Anishinaabe community looks forward to witnessing the important contributions that these young leaders will make to the continued growth and prosperity of the First Nation.

Additionally, we would like to express our heartfelt gratitude to the outgoing Youth Executive Council members who have served their communities with dedication and commitment:

Primary Representatives:
Winter Lipscombe – Wauzhushk Onigum
Ernie Cobiness Jr. – Buffalo Point
Seth Vlotaros – Rainy River First Nations
Kayla Morrison – Onigaming

Junior Proxies:
Sage Smith – Naicatchewenin
Alex Calvert – Migisi Sahgaigan
Lindsay Bain – Wabigoon Lake
Caidence Skead – Wauzhushk Onigum
Liam George – Naongashiing

Their dedication to the Anishinaabe Nation has been exemplary, and they have paved the way for the new generation of leaders.

“The Anishinaabe Nation celebrates the selection of our new Youth Executive Council with great pride,” said Ogichidaa Francis Kavanaugh. “Our youth are the foundation of our future, and their voices and involvement in traditional governance complete the circle of our continued success. We look forward to the positive impact they will bring to our communities.”

The Anishinaabe Nation in Treaty #3 extends its warmest congratulations to the newly selected Youth Executive Council and its deepest appreciation to the outgoing members. Together, we continue to work towards a future that respects and honors the rich traditions and values of the Anishinaabe people.


For more information, please contact: Sarah Whorpole, Jordan’s Principle Liaison, Grand Council Treaty#3 – (807) 548-4214 or by email

PDF – October 27, 2023 – Grand Council Treaty #3 Congratulates and Welcomes Newly Selected Treaty #3 Youth Executive Council