Ogichidaa Kavanaugh extends congratulations to National Chief Perry Bellegarde

On July 25, 2018, Perry Bellegarde was elected for a consecutive term as the National Chief of the Assembly of First Nations.  Mr. Bellegarde secured the election on the second ballot, receiving 328 votes of the 522 ballots cast which represented 63% of the votes cast by Chiefs and proxies.

Ogichidaa Francis Kavanaugh stated, “I extend heartfelt congratulations to Perry Bellegarde who will be returning as National Chief.  He has received the mandate and I look forward to collaboratively working to advance the priorities and needs of Treaty #3 Nation.” Further, “our Treaty#3 leadership would like to acknowledge the other candidates who ran in the election: Katherine Whitecloud, Russ Diabo, Sheila North-Wilson, and Miles Richardson, as well as all of the volunteers who worked tirelessly on their behalf.”

The Assembly of First Nations hosted their 39th Annual General Assembly at the Vancouver Convention Centre July 24-26, 2018.   The Anishinaabe Nation in Treaty#3 had 21 Chiefs and proxies attending the Assembly.




Janine Seymour
Phone: 807-548-4214
Direct: 807-464-1261
Email: political.advisor@treaty3.ca