Female Chief Profiles

I like to focus on being positive. Even though we do have our challenges, you have to maintain being positive.

Chief Lorraine Cobiness

Niisaachewan Anishinaabe Nation 


With 12 years of experience (6 consecutive terms) as Chief of Niisaachewan First Nation, Lorraine Cobiness is thankful for the opportunities she’s had to create meaningful partnerships that benefit her people.

Among Cobiness’ many accomplishments, she is the most proud of the balance she has been able to strike between national and community needs – from collaborating with industry and government to manage the Kenora forest, and the ongoing development of an all nations health care system and hospital, to opening Keshick High School as a way to pass on local culture, language, and heritage.

I want to see Treaty 3 Anishinaabe Nation sustainable in our Anishinaabe way of life, to work together in all aspects of our lives, to have a better future for our people and for those that are unborn.

Chief Marilyn Sinclair

Washagamis Bay First Nation

Sinclair has high hopes for her community and term as Chief. She is the first female Chief for Washagamis Bay First Nation, and feels extremely honoured to have the power of an all-female Council, and 9 strong, female Chiefs, behind her.

During her first term of leadership, Chief Marilyn and her Council have worked together with her community on developing projects and making it a reality such as their new Water Treatment Plant, Housing, and their very own school (Kaanaamatay Wiigiiam School) in the community.

During her second term of leadership, her main focus is construct more housing for their community members. As well as focus their energies on economic development and developing partnerships to create employment for their members, especially for their youth.


Chief Judy Whitecloud

Lac des Mille Lacs First Nation



Chief Janice Henderson

Mitaanjigamiing First Nation



Chief Candi Kelly

Onigaming First Nation



Chief Darlene Comegan

Northwest Angle #33 First Nation


Chief Carrie Boshkaykin

Seine River First Nation



Chief Lynn Indian

Mishkosiminiziibiing (Big Grassy River First Nation)


Chief Esther Pitchenese

Waabigonii Zaaga’igan (Wabigoon Lake Ojibway Nation)


Chief Andrea Camp

Buffalo Point First Nation


Chief Linda McVicar

Animakee Wa Zhing 37